Dreamy Covers Book Tag

dreamy book cover

Hey everyone!

I think it is safe to say that we all love a good book cover, yes? They don’t make-or-break a book, after all, I have loved books with bad cover and hated books that had beautiful covers, but we all judge books by their covers. I know that I have definitely picked up books in a bookshop simply because of its cover… I didn’t necessarily buy it as I always read the blurb first, but the cover alone can peak my interest!

Anyway, I haven’t actually been tagged by anyone for this, but I wanted to give it a go… So lets talk about some book covers!

Rules:

  • Thank the lovely person who tagged you, spread the love!
  • Mention Tiana at The Book Raven as the creator of this book tag!
  • Use the original tag image in your post. (However, feel free to add whatever other graphics your heart desires!)
  • Tag at least 1 fellow blogger for this tag.
  • List the rules

   –     –     –    –     –     –     –      –     –     –     –     –     –

No Ideas but in Things:

A book cover that perfectly expresses the novel inside it

skyward

I’ve plumped for Skyward by Brandon Sanderson. This book cover, the UK version at least, really captures everything about Spensa and this story. She’s staring off into space (literally!) from the surface as a ship flies away, and I think this really tells you about her longing and desire to fly that is crucial to the storyline.

 

Sugary Sweet:

A cute cover that is so fluffy you want to give it a hug

Ummmm… I might have to pass. I don’t read any books that are particularly sweet! Not good for the second one.

 

The Simple Aesthetic:

A book cover that stuns with the most minimalistic of design

the wolf in the whale

A tricky one. I had loads and loads of options here as I quite like minimalistic covers. Honourable mentions go to the Lord of the Rings books and the Wars of the Roses books by Conn Iggulden, but I have gone for the stark and striking Wolf in the Whale by Jordanna Max Brodsky.

 

Cover Envy:

A book cover you wish you had on your shelves, but don’t yet

wolf and tiger

The Tiger and the Wolf by Adrian Tchaikovsky. Just look at it… It’s a beautiful work of art! I really need to get around to reading this one.

 

Travelling Abroad:

A book cover featuring a country outside of your own

walking nile

I struggled with this one, but in the end I went for Walking the Nile by Levison Wood. I know Africa isn’t a country, but it really captures the vast enormity of the task in walking the Nile. And I struggled so I went for this one even if it isn’t quite right.

 

The Colour Wheel:

A cover that showcases one of your favourite colours

priory

This is actually another one I don’t have. I’ve gone for The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon as I love the golden yellow colour that takes up most of this cover and couldn’t think of many other yellow covers. And yes, yellow is my favourite colour. It’s so cheerful! 😊

 

Switching Gears:

A cover change you absolutely adore

There were a couple of standout options here and both for the same reasons! In the end, though, I went for the Assassin’s Apprentice covers by Robin Hobb. I went for this one because the original look like 1980’s bad Dungeons and Dragons artwork (I think this may have actually been fashionable for fantasy books at one point!) but the new one is just soooo much better! It’s sleek, has a recognisable style and just much, much more visually appealing!

 

And the Winner is…

Which book cover mentioned above is your favourite?

wolf and tiger

Ooooh, that is a hard one! I’ve gone for Adrian Tchaikovsky’s The Wolf and the Tiger though. I just think it is a really striking and beautiful cover. Not actually read the book yet, but looking forward to it!

   –     –     –    –     –     –     –      –     –     –     –     –     –

Tag, you’re it;

Jack at Jth Books 

Steph at Books Love Readers 

Morgana at Morgana’s Book Box

Alexandra at Whimsy Pages

Oh, and if anyone else wants to take part in the Dreamy Books Covers Tag then go for it, I’d love to see your answers so consider yourselves tagged as well.

 

   –     –     –    –     –     –     –      –     –     –     –     –     –

 

So, there are some of my thoughts on book covers, what did you think? What are some of your favourite book covers? Let me know in the comments! Especially if you can think of one that perfectly captured the story in the book!

Have a good day!

Jack

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Dreamy Covers Book Tag

    1. Yes! I am not entirely sure how or why I haven’t got around to buying it yet either as I see it in my local Waterstones all the time! It’s almost like a ritual to pick it up and admire it before buying something else… 🤷‍♂️

      Like

  1. Pingback: DREAMY COVERS BOOK TAG: Boy’s Love Edition – Never Hollowed By The Stare

  2. Pingback: DREAMY COVERS BOOK TAG: Book Edition – ~Never Hollowed By The Stare~

  3. Pingback: Dreamy Covers Book Tag – My World of Books

  4. Pingback: DREAMY COVERS BOOK TAG: Manga Edition | Never Hollowed By The Stare

  5. Pingback: DREAMY COVERS BOOK TAG: Manga Edition (2021) | Never Hollowed By The Stare

Leave a comment